Just Because: 3 reasons why I don’t buy brand new games

In my previous post about the Steam Winter Sale which you can check out here, I mentioned that I don’t normally buy new games, or at least, I don’t buy them unless they are heavily discounted. So because of that, I have been inspired to write this post on exactly why.

Now I feel I should clarify, I do buy brand new games, but usually only 1 or 2 a year. While I’m sure many of you also only buy one or two a year, 2016 has been an amazing year for video games. I mean with games like Overwatch (which won Game of the Year), Gears of War 4 ,Battlefield 1 and Titanfall 2, it’s hard to disagree.

My brand new game of this year was in fact Overwatch (which I may do a belated thoughts for soon), and if you haven’t checked out this game, you should. However saying that I just bought betrays the journey I took from seeing it for the first time, doing extensive research on it, thinking about getting it for weeks, and then finally, actually buying.

But why do I make it so hard on myself? I mean it’s just one game right? I’m not gonna be breaking bank with it. Well in spirit with the title of this post, I am going to try why buying a new game is for me, such an arduous process, and why I usually end up saying no.

1) Games are expensive.

So I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks this, but buying a brand new game is expensive. Here in New Zealand, A brand new triple A title is around $90 to $100 NZD (around $70 USD), and for a student like me, this is a lot of dosh to be throwing around on games.

However this reason is likely the most debatable. Why? Because different games cost different moneyssss.  Example: Towerfall Ascension, a freaking awesome indie game, is only $18, whereas the newest Call of Duty is $110, so there is pretty large range. Generally if a game is over $25, I’ll probably wait till a sale, this brings me to my next reason.

2) I am stingy as hell.

Not stingy like a wasp, but stingy with money. Every purchase for me becomes an internal dilemma and an exercise in weighing up the pros and cons, and generally this will drag out to the point where I don’t even end up buying the thing I’m thinking about. In other cases, I’ll be so sure that I will get my moneys’ worth, but still deny myself from spending any money. I even get worked up when games go massively on sale and want to spend 4 or 5 bucks.

Now obviously this is a blessing and curse, I never overspend, and always have enough money for rent and stuff, but I miss out on all the cool games that I could be playing. Hopefully I’ll loosen up a bit for the Steam Winter Sale about to hit in less than a week, I have plenty of games on my list and besides, they say you remember all the good things about the game you buy, not the money you spent on it.

Just keep it within reason 🙂

3) I like to let the dust settle.

I talked about this a bit in my post about Pre-ordering games, which you can check out here. Basically, sometimes a game is released with numerous bugs and issues plaguing it, and sometimes it just doesn’t meet peoples’ expectations (*cough* No Man’s Sky *cough*). When this happens, I always feel a little better about my decision to not buy it right off the bat, because as any gamer knows, there is no worse feeling than buying a new game you have been excited for, just for it to end up being a disappointment.

Giving time for things to settle down means that you can get a better idea of what you are actually buying into before you buy it. Who doesn’t love that?

On top of that, sometimes sales can occur soon after it’s released where it goes on a discounted price. I have seen this happen a few times, and while it won’t be some massive discount, saving money is still saving money.

All in all, I think having a bit of patience can be worth it.

But hey, I’m just one person, how often do you buy games brand new? If you are like me and prefer to wait, what are your reasons? Keep in mind that ‘Just becuase’ is a perfectly viable answer. If you enjoyed reading this, be sure to give it a like, it really makes my day, and until then, stay beautiful 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Just Because: 3 reasons why I don’t buy brand new games

  1. Good post. Honestly, the only games I’ve gotten on day one this year have been Pokemon Moon, Uncharted 4 and The Last Guardian. Otherwise, I’m giving other titles a couple weeks before I dive in. There are too many patches and problems that arise in the beginning. I just saw that FFXV got a massive patch that fixed a lot of problems with the game and I’d have been pretty annoyed if I got it on day one and had already finished it by then.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, sounds like I did, haha. I think I’m going to wait a couple more weeks to to see if SE patches the game any more before I plunge into it. Though, with Horizon and the Switch/Zelda just a couple months away, I may end up pushing FFXV back even further 😛

        That said, do you share your posts on any other websites? You said this blog was pretty new, but I think it looks really solid so far (from the perspective of the readeR). I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Movie Pilot and Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. If you were open to the idea of posting your work on our Creators site in addition to also having your blog/site here, I’d be more than happy to help you get started. My e-mail and more info can be found on my page. (o^.^)b

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Waiting for a bit sounds like a good plan to me, and thankfully FFXV isn’t going anywhere so it’s not like you will miss out completely. Also, as you mentioned, there are plenty of good games on the horizon (pun intended) to tide you over until such time that you play it.
      Otherwise thank you, I appreciate the compliment, and thank you as well for the invitation, I’m definitely keen, I’m always happy to get my posts out there where people might enjoy it. I’ll think about it and get back to you in a couple of days on my decision.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

