My most anticipated games of 2017

I don’t really get hyped about games. I know, bad way to start out a most anticipated list, but seriously, I used to get super hyped and obsessed over games prior to release, and it wasn’t the most pleasant experience ever. So in the past few years, I mainly focus on the games coming out right now, and what the gameplay looks like once people have their hands on it and the reviews and gameplay videos start coming out.

In saying this, often there are a good few games that I like to keep on my radar, so that when it comes out, I can be like “Oh, this is a game I was quite excited to be released, how does the finished product look?”. This list is for those games, and given it is the start of a new year, the number of games on the horizon is significant, and bound to grow. Keep in mind I’m a PC gamer as you go through the list. So without further ado, here is a small list of games I’m most excited about, as of the start of 2017:

4) Yooka Laylee

A spiritual successor to the popular Banjo-Kanzooie games, and even made by some of the same people that worked on it, this game is hopefully going to be one of the best adventure games of the year. With a colourful, vibrant look and fun characters to match, it seems like a winner. As for the protagonists, its a chameleon with a bat friend, who could even resist. Release date: 11 April 2017

3) Below

A game I honestly had no idea about until I looked up a list of games being released in 2017 just hours before coming up with the idea of this post. Below is an adventure, roguelike game in which you navigate a series of caves on an island, surviving dangers and discovering secrets as you journey below. I’m always a sucker to roguelikes, and indie titles, and this one in particular has gotten my attention thanks to the interesting and challenging looking gameplay, and beautiful art style to back it up. Release date: TBC 2017

2) For Honor

Ever wanted to beat up a samurai as a viking? For Honor has you sorted. The action hack and slash game let’s you play as a medieval archetype, either viking, knight, or samurai, and beat the crap out of each other using a tactical, but hard hitting combat system. The main appeal for me is definitely the setting, knowing that you are a big player in who wins and who loses in this historic battle ramps up the tension, and makes me feel like each player kill and each objective I complete really makes a difference. Plus running around chopping up people with a big sword is fun in almost any game. Release date: 14 February 2017

1) Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands

An open world game where you play as Ghost soldiers doing whatever you want in a wasteland filled with drug cartels and bad guys. Yes please. This game just screams options, whether it’s where you wanna go, how to pull off the next awesome hostile takeover whether it’s stealthy and tactical, or all guns blazing, this game looks like an absolute blast. Particularly when you throw in co-op on top of it all, I’m sure madness, chaos, and perfectly executed stealth takedowns will be the name of the game. Can’t wait for this game to drop. Release date: 7 March 2017

 

Of course, these are only a few games, there are many more that we know about, and surely many that we don’t. Can’t wait to see how these one’s turn out

In the mean time, what games are you looking forward to playing in 2017? And if you enjoyed this post, be sure to like it, it really does make my day. Until next time, stay beautiful 🙂

One thought on “My most anticipated games of 2017

Leave a Reply

