Is there an age limit to gaming?

I was six when I started playing games. Occasionally I would borrow my older brothers’ Game Boy to play Pokemon and later The Adventure of Zelda, and people didn’t seem to mind. I’m sure that at that age people were just glad they could leave me to do something on my own and they didn’t have to worry about me.

Needless to say, I’m not six anymore. As I have gotten older however, peoples’ perception of my gaming has also changed, and not for the better. It seems as though while playing video games as a child was all good, they didn’t expect me to keep playing games past getting into university. When my answer to the question “Do you still play games?” is yes, people walk away as if I just told them I’m a psychopath.

I feel like I should clarify. By people, I mean anyone in my family apart from my parents and brothers.

This is very frustrating for me, not only do I enjoy playing video games for fun, it’s so much more than that. For me it is a means of relaxation and relieving stress, a medium through which I can interact and spend time with friends, and I’m interested and passionate about it. So, the perception that perhaps I’m getting too old to play games, or that there is an age limit at all, is ludicrous to me.

Perhaps it is just a traditional way of thinking that causes them to think that I should rethink my hobbies, and pick more adult pass-times such as reading books or watching movies. But I don’t see why I can’t enjoy those things, and still enjoy playing video games, without feeling like everyone still sees me as a child (give me a good book and I’ll happily read it over playing video games).

Also, how did gaming become seen as a childish pass-time? If anything, one of the reasons gaming is so great is because of the huge variety of games out there to pick from, meaning there is likely something for everyone, of any age. Besides, playing video games has been linked to many health benefits such as improved memory, reduced stress and depression, better decision making, and improved vision. And it makes me happy, isn’t that the main thing?

Well, that’s my little rant of the day, hopefully I’m not the only one that feels this way. I would love to know what you think though. Is there an age limit to gaming? Let me know in the comments, and if you enjoyed this post, give it a like. Until next time, stay beautiful 🙂

12 thoughts on “Is there an age limit to gaming?

  1. Same here. When people find out I play video games they give me strange looks because I’m an adult (and I also thinks it’s a little bit because I’m a girl, too). One of my co-workers talks all the time about how she doesn’t understand video games. She doesn’t say they’re bad or even undermine that I play them, she’s just speaking her mind because she truly doesn’t get it. But it still hurts a little.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear that. Being judged on age is bad enough, let alone gender. On top of it hurting you I imagine that by vocalizing her thoughts that creates quite a divide between you two. I get that she is speaking her mind, but I think sometimes it’s about knowing when not to broadcast your thoughts to avoid hurting others (in this case she is hurting you). Sorry, I’m not so great when it comes to people, but thank you for sharing your experiences.

      Like

      1. Oh, it’s fine. We get along great. It’s just hard because she has no idea that I plan on doing more with video games (like start up a let’s play channel and stuff) because I don’t want to hear what she has to say about it.

        Like

      2. Sounds a lot like some of my current friendships as well if I’m honest, and I agree, it is hard. Awesome that you plan to do more with video games. I started up a let’s play channel with my best friend two years ago for fun (which I have been shockingly lazy with this last month) and it has indeed been some of the most fun I’ve had in my life, so I can’t reccomend it enough.

        Like

      3. That’s so cool! My sister and I hope to do one in the near future. We’ve started thinking about equipment and such. But with the Switch coming out we may want to buy that first.
        What’s your channel? We watch Let’s Plays all the time.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you, it’s not that serious, but in case you feel like checking it out it’s called Psilink. Yeah waiting for the Switch might not be a bad idea, certainly give me a heads up when you and your sister do start up your let’s play channel because I would be keen to check that out.

        Like

  2. I agree with you totally, I’m 35 and still love gaming. In fact I think I like it even more now! I’ve got kids, youngest 5, and I’m getting them into it too. The way I see it is if others don’t want to have fun that’s their problem, not ours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment